Addis Ababa , 25 July 2020. The African Union Commission and IGAD take note of the vote of no confidence passed by the House of the People on the administration of Prime Minister Hassan Ali Khaire.

The African Union Commission and IGAD further take note that this vote comes after the Federal Government of Somalia (FGS) and Federal Member States (FMS) leaders reached an agreement in Dhusamareb to form a technical committee on election modalities for the 2020 national elections. 

The African Union Commission and IGAD urge Somali leaders to show unity of purpose, commit to the agreements reached in Dhusamareb and respect the agreed timelines in line with the Provisional Federal Constitution. They further underscore the importance of ensuring that the agreed electoral model that will emerge from the technical committee is underpinned by broad based consensus involving parliament, political parties, civil society and other Somali stakeholders.

The African Union Commission and IGAD call on the FGS to continue to advance the implementation of other key priorities including security sector reform, the fight against Al Shabaab, the Constitutional Review, the Judicial Services Commission, Human Right Commission and the Constitutional Court. They further called for the sustained inter-governmental engagement between the Federal Government and the Federal Member States.

The African Union Commission and IGAD stress the need for all stakeholders to exercise restraint and avoid any action that may lead to instability.

Posted by SitroomCom

We use cookies on our website and mobile app to improve content display and overall user experience. The cookies we use do not store personally identifiable information nor can they harm your computer.
We intend to provide you with the right knowledge on-demand at the right time and in the appropriate format to ensure that you engage the African Union constructively in your specific role.
If you have any questions please contact directly PSD web Administrator at