The Continent has long expressed its commitment to a world free of the abhorrent and indiscriminate biological, chemical and nuclear weapons (WMD). The Common African Defense and Security Policy (CADSP), adopted by the Second Extraordinary Session of the Assembly of the Union, held in Sirte, Libya, on 28 February 2004, identifies WMD as a common threat facing all Member States and should be addressed in a collective manner.

In this regard, the AU Commission aims to address WMD disarmament and non-proliferation through promoting the implementation of the international and regional non-proliferation multilateral regimes, including the African Nuclear-Weapon-Free Zone Treaty (Treaty of Pelindaba), the Convention on the Prohibition of the Development, Production, Stockpiling and Use of Chemical Weapons and on their Destruction (Chemical Weapons Convention - CWC) and the Convention on the Prohibition of the Development, Production and Stockpiling of Bacteriological and Toxin Weapons and on their Destruction (Biological Weapons Convention – BWC). This is in addition to instruments relating to the security of other chemical, biological, radiological and nuclear (CBRN) material, including the Convention on the Physical Protection of Nuclear Material, the Convention on the Suppression of Acts of Nuclear Terrorism, as well as UN Security Council resolution 1540 (2004).

The objective of the Commission is to promote and support the ratification and implementation of these regimes among Member States, including through developing the required human and technical capacities while ensuring that they benefit fully from the peaceful application of related sciences and technologies for socio-economic development. In this regard, the Commission works closely with the relevant regional and international organizations, including the African Commission on Nuclear Energy (AFCONE), the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA), the Organization for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW), the Implementation Support Unit (ISU) of the BWC, UN Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC), the Committee established pursuant to security council resolution 1540 (2004) and the UN Office for Disarmament Affairs (UNODA).